Finished painting: Nicotiana, the fairy of the Tobacco Plant

Another finished painting! This is the second of my poison flower fairies paintings. I really had to have this one in the collection – not a plant that one probably thinks of if asked to name a poisonous plant, but the plant that has killed more people than all other poison plants ever: the Tobacco Plant. This is one of many of the ornamental varieties which, of course, is why I had it in the garden. I also planted what I thought was a more attractive plant that had a delicate spray of short, pink flowers, but I chose to use this one because I love the way the flowers look at the same time like cigarettes and like cigarette holders, and the dying flowers rather like half-smoked roll-ups.

Nicotiana the Tobacco Plant Fairy
Nicotiana, the Tobacco Plant Fairy (click image to see it larger) The painting is in gouache and the size is about 13 x 19 inches.
Close-up of the fairy, with her rollers and cigarette.
Close-up of the fairy, with her rollers and cigarette…
Painting - the tobacco plant fairy
I suspect the Tobacco Plant Fairy is a bit of a slob: and early riser, perhaps, but happy to slouch in full view of the world in her rollers and dressing gown with not a care who sees her. She probably leaves her half-smoked cigarettes on every leaf.
Detail of the flowers
Detail of the flowers.

For the original post with the sketch for this painting have a look at this post: https://nancyfarmer.wordpress.com/2012/01/09/sketches-for-the-poison-flower-fairies/

4 Comments

  1. I love this painting. It’s very funky and fantasy like but also charming and funny. A clever and wonderful painting..

    1. Thank you Shelley πŸ™‚

  2. I Absolutely love it! Very nice work! Wish I owned it!

    1. Thanks πŸ™‚
      P.s: it’s still for sale πŸ˜‰

Tell me what you think!

