And finally: November’s Intrepid explorer!

Eleven Fairies (and one firework) for November: the Intrepid Explorer and his 10 assistants, well-wishers and hangers-on. Most of whom, for the sake on Elf and Safety, are somewhat cosily stuffed into a jam-jar for spark-free viewing.

I owe thanks to John Pindar of notestothemilkman.wordpress.com for this suggestion, though it almost didn’t come to be: I imagined all 11 fairies riding on a rocket, and that simply wasn’t working! And of course, as those who’ve been following the progress of this 2013 calendar will already know, there had to be 11 fairies and not any other number. And so, with a bit of a squeeze, I had to invent the Large Jam Jar Viewing Gallery… Plus, frankly, I feel the one lone explorer is a better dramatic narrative than another bunch of fairies all charging around together, as I already have done for October and December.

The Intrepid Explorer-Fairy, setting off on his rocket, complete with goggles, and 1940s flying helmet. Nope, still no clothes, though... as if!
The Intrepid Explorer-Fairy, setting off on his rocket, complete with goggles, and 1940s flying helmet. Nope, still no clothes, though… as if!

I think this picture needs a little shuffling, moving the jam-jars down a bit , and yes, the ‘jarishness’ of the jars doesn’t come out well in this sketch, but I am optimistic. As this is now definitely the sketch for a painting and not a drawing I will have to re-draw it on watercolour paper anyway.

Real life and events (and the increasing number of fairies with every picture) have meant that I have slowed down these last weeks, and it’s with something of a sigh of relief that I can say: Yay! I’m finished! That is, of course, I have completed the sketches for the calendar, but that’s usually the hardest bit for me.

I shall now go off and paint them. I’ll keep you up to date of course.

4 Comments

  1. So cute! Go lil Scorpio go! šŸ˜€

    1. Thanks, and yeah I wondered even perhaps too cute, but then I thought it’s a calendar, and it’ll be nearly Christmas!

  2. Love your drawings, and I’ll be back…Checkout mine.

    1. Thank you, Hansi, I did, too. Love the energy and the humour in your art! šŸ˜€

Tell me what you think!

