In Memoriam

If truth be told, I haven’t really been able to gather together too many coherent thoughts lately. A good friend has been terminally ill and died yesterday. So when I mentioned that ‘life’ had been getting in the way of artwork, it was a little more than that.

I feel this blog, though it is an artwork blog, not a wholesale  ‘welcome to my life’ blog, should nonetheless mark the passing of a dear friend in an appropriate way.

I first met Jen in a bar in Abu Dhabi, which, considering I live in a small rural village in Somerset, is pretty much out of my environment. I was in Abu Dhabi because my partner went out to work there for some weeks, and got stuck working there for some years. Jen is probably largely responsible for keeping him sane out there, so I have her to thank for that, too.

You don’t need to know any more, other than that the most appropriate thought I have is to raise a very large virtual glass in honour of a life well lived, so this is for Jen:

wine for Jen
Wine for Jen. (though owing to the vagaries of predictive text, it was generally refereed to by Jen as ‘a glass of wind’)

8 Comments

  1. Poignant & Perfect. My heart goes out to you for the loss of your friend.
    A glass of wine for Jen as she rides the wind…to her next destination and adventure!

    1. Thank you Mgon xx

  2. I’m impressed with the art-work. Sorry to hear of the passing of your friend.

    1. Hi, and thank you, both times!

  3. Here’s to Jen (toast)!

  4. A lovely tribute. Here’s to good and absent friends (ps I never realised how many glasses of red wine there were in your work)!

  5. Thank you Bron! yes, I am one of those people who believes that wine is a fit subject for art in it’s own right… something to do with my up-bringing, probably! And certainly Jen would have approved.

Tell me what you think!

