Snakes and Ladders (the spelling kind)

Well, life once more gets in the way of the short time I had to get on with any ‘proper’ artwork today, but this time for a good reason. It is one of my nephews’ birthdays, and so a card was called for.

I have gone all through the six nephews and nieces with spelling lizards and spelling cats, so it was time to pick another spelling creature (this way I do not struggle at least to come up with a new idea on the spot six times a year). And I like spelling animals 🙂

Spelling snakes? Are snakes are a bit too simple on their own, I wondered, so I thought I would have a go at snakes and ladders. I hope seven year olds of today still know about snakes and ladders!

Snakes and Ladders: the spelling sort
Snakes and Ladders: the spelling sort

4 Comments

  1. OMGosh. So cute! I want one with a Scorpion wrapped around the letter M. Heh-heh *pleads with big eyes* 😉

    1. Hmmm, now you mention it, scorpions would make cool Spelling Animals, though most people might find them a bit scary! Well… I’m always up for considering commissions, ‘fraid only nephews and nieces get free artwork 😉 …but please don’t ask ’till I’ve done the calendar!

    1. Thank you! 🙂

Tell me what you think!

