Finally got round to putting paint to paper!

Hooray! here is the start of the first of my calendar paintings. Bearing in mind that they were going to be drawings not full paintings, that there have been several distracting events, and that I am pretty slow anyway, I will not take up much time today to write a lot…. I think I better get on with it!

This is ‘Seven Birds on a Wire’ – the sketch is in this post, if you’d like to see it again. In calendar-order, I have started in the middle with these paintings: If I start right at the beginning, with the simple ones, the more complex paintings will menace me. This seemed as good a place to start as any.

I started this at the weekend, or possibly Friday, so I haven’t done this all in one day! Anyway, without further ado:

'Seven Birds on a Wire' - blue under-painting
‘Seven Birds on a Wire’ – blue under-painting
'Seven Birds on a Wire' - adding the base colour
‘Seven Birds on a Wire’ – adding the base colour
'Seven Birds on a Wire' - the base background colour, and the bit that nobody believes will work out right!
‘Seven Birds on a Wire’ – the base background colour, and the bit that nobody believes will work out right!
'Seven Birds on a Wire' - the painting after its turn under the shower...
‘Seven Birds on a Wire’ – the painting after its turn under the shower…
'Seven Birds on a Wire' - many, many thin colour washes later....
‘Seven Birds on a Wire’ – many, many thin colour washes later….
'Seven Birds on a Wire' - the painting so far.
‘Seven Birds on a Wire’ – the painting so far.

4 Comments

  1. I was looking forward to seeing your paintings. Love this one. There’s a story behind the separation into five and two that invites imagination into the painting. I like a mystery.

    1. Thank you 🙂 I am very happy to hear you say that, because I always like to weave potential stories into paintings involving a grouping of people, usually without actually giving out any actual answer!

Tell me what you think!

