The Intrepid Explorer: part 2

Work continues on ‘The Intrepid Explorer’. If you missed the previous post, see that one for all my ‘shading’ work. Now on goes the colour. This is gouache, a water-based paint, and most of it I will be washing off in a minute, which is handy, as I am temporarily obliterating my careful painting, bit by bit:

The Intrepid Explorer - adding the colour under-painting
The Intrepid Explorer – adding the colour under-painting

Usually I would fill in with the base background colour at this stage but I feel there should be an impression of fireworks in the background. I resorted to a random splattering of paint… not my usual thing, but it will probably come out ok in the end! I started with a toothbrush, and a ruler, flicking white paint over… er… everything actually. This, as I say, is not in my usual armoury of techniques, and it is hard to aim with a flicky toothbrush. Finally some paint got in the right place:

firework 'splashes'
firework ‘splashes’

The big blobs were a bit too round, so I also flicked some water on them to spread the edges in what I hope will be a nice random way. Next, I had to wait a while to let everything dry completely, giving me the opportunity to shut down the computer and give it a bit of a clean. oops.

...my painted computer!
…my painted computer!

And for the background. Now it all resembles a very bad painting of stonehenge, but never fear….

Adding the background 'under-painting'
Adding the background ‘under-painting’

…because straight after this dried I took the painting upstairs and gave it its hosing down in the bath, with the shower thingy and a soft brush, washing off most of the paint. This is what I have now:

The painting having been hosed down in the shower, underpainting finished.
The painting having been hosed down in the shower, underpainting finished.

…phew… starting to look like something. Still a lot more painting to go…. I shall be back.

By the way, I hope you like the new blog format. I visited Six Glasses of Water‘s blog, and thought the home page layout was a much better way to show what is mostly a diary of paintings, so I found something similar. Hmm. Maybe I’m still thinking I like her theme even more, but it didn’t seem to suit my images… they are not as consistent in colour and weight, I think that’s why this slightly nerdier theme worked. Anyway, I hope you like it, I think I do 😀

8 Comments

  1. etcorngods

    —– Cool, Thanks

    Original Message —– From: Nancy Farmer’s artwork To: george@etcorngods.com Sent: Sunday, August 26, 2012 3:06 PM Subject: [New post] The Intrepid Explorer: part 2

    Nancy Farmer posted: “Work continues on ‘The Intrepid Explorer’. If you missed the previous post, see that one for all my ‘shading’ work. Now on goes the colour. This is gouache, a water-based paint, and most of it I will be washing off in a minute, which is handy, as I am tem”

  2. Mgon ♥

    It’s almost done. So exciting! Even after all this time, I’m still amazed by your art – both, the final product, obviously, and the process, itself. Beautiful and fascinating. I’m still itching to give it a try; if for no other reason than to appreciate your skill and talent all the more. 😉 But enough about me…. LOL

    1. Thanks Mgon… sometime i will put up real simple step-by-step parts of the process so people can properly see how I’m doing it!

  3. Lovely to see the different stages developing. So interesting to see the techniques of other artists 🙂

  4. Yes, i agree with the others. I love the subject of your painting though, i am curious what it will be like when its finished. I wish to be able to try this out myself too. unfortunately i am at the other end of the world, so not so easy and still in the middle of a lot of exploring with what i do now. But when the opportunity arises, i hope to try this! Good luck with the final phase!

    1. Thanks Ardy… no reason why being the other side of the world should stop you having a go, though. The paints that personally use are fairly expensive, but water-based paints of this kind are also among some of the cheapest sorts. Sometime this blog needs some proper step-by-step notes, when I have the time.

Tell me what you think!

