Escher’s Crackers: the beginning

So, this is my finale, the December painting for my calendar. I have not yet done February, and I may do another September (though still with full moon, and thank you for pointing me in that direction, those of you who did, the idea was a good one; the actual execution on my part was a bit rubbish, that’s all!). But by any sensible measure, December in a calendar may be considered something of a finale.

So… what with friends moving to our little village, and other friends having 50th birthdays, work has been a little light this week. I am not complaining: these are both positive reasons to be prevented from working, unlike the negative reasons of a month back. So you will have to excuse the single photograph:I just thought you should see progress so far. That said, merely drawing it out neatly having traced it onto paper was the work of some hours. I am quite glad there are only 12 months in the year:

Just like Escher, but with more fairies and crackers...
Just like Escher, but with more fairies and crackers…

And so I have started…

And what is more I have an idea for the calendar for 2014, and I could start in October, which should be enough time, unlike this one! That plan I will tell you about in due course… 🙂

4 Comments

  1. This is fantastic – so complex

  2. thank you Rosie 🙂

  3. Wowza. Entwined coolness! 😀

  4. Wow…that’s gonna be great, can’t wait to see the finished work.

Tell me what you think!

