Finished Painting: Escher’s Crackers

The painting hasn’t changed much I know, but I have done another almost two days work on it so for the sake of completeness I thought I’d show it to you again:

'Escher's Crackers' - finished
‘Escher’s Crackers’ – finished

Most of the difference between this one and the last photo is the ‘un-painting’ I have been doing. What you saw in the last photo was how the painting looked having been hosed down with the shower thingy, but brushed only with a very soft brush to wash the loose paint off. After that I dried the painting and worked up some of the details by wetting and scrubbing off more paint with a stiff hogs-hair brush cut short, so that it has tough bristles and quite a lot of precision. This is mostly how I brought out the wings, though I also painted in most of the ribs on the wings again in white.

I’ve also worked up some details in the fairies, mostly in the faces, but my little camera won’t capture this – that will have to wait for the scanner…

Currently I am knee-deep in website updates however, including making a page for the as-yet-unfinished calendar, which will be ready soon (ish)… promise! I thought I would allow you to pre-order calendars, because I’ve had several enquiries, so I’m about to make a page that allows you to do that. In the meantime, I have just added a lot of recent paintings to the website. Many of these have had their 15 minutes on this blog already, but not all, and my website shows quite big pictures and nice details. So in case you’d like to see the pictures all over again, or catch up on some you missed, here are all the new arrivals on my website. Click the thumbnails. That should work. I am very surprised it does but still, it seems to. If it doesn’t, please let me know….

Angel Delight Ghost Girl Eat, Drink and be Merry Daisy Chopper Poison Flower Fairies: Aconitum Napellus, the Monkshood Fairy Nicotiana, the Tobacco Plant Fairy Poison Flower Fairies: Ricinus Communis, the Fairy of the Castor Bean Plant Poison Flower Fairies: Euphorbia Lathyris, Fairy of the Caper Spurge Fairy Gossip Sherrie-jane: portrait of a Lingerie Fairy Vis-a-vis

8 Comments

  1. Oooh, I like the Escher Crackers! Always wanted to draw an Escher style tessellation myself… am jealous 😛

    1. Thanks! All the same I don’t think Escher would approve – they do not really tessellate at all. Proper tessellation, now, there’s a thought for another time… I also have something of a fascination for tessellating things.

  2. Mgon ♥

    So much to look at now. I’m always amazed how much the wings change things. They always bring a softness to the whole. And the candy, crowns, and blowouts are so fun. Then you look closer, and see horns, tails, and even a tongue sticking out. Heh-heh. It’s all in the details!

    1. thanks 🙂 …candy… ah, I think you mean the crackers – over here you get naff plastic ‘toys’ in them, not sweets, but I’ve seen the same thing done in Germany, only smaller, as candy with a banger inside. they were much cuter, but not quite like the ones we have here.

  3. What a wonderful technique 🙂

    1. thank you 🙂 I invented it for myself, so I’m not sure what it’s called, but I’m sure I’m not the only one to do this… there is probably a name for the technique….

  4. This is beautiful! I get lost in the painting trying to work out how they’re all connected.

  5. Thank you! just don’t stare at it while drunk, I reckon!

Tell me what you think!

