It’s September… again!

I have not gone away, but apologies for abandoning this blog for a while. I have been busy with Somerset Arts Weeks, and I haven’t forgotten that I am still down one or two pictures for the calendar for 2013. I say one or two because if you recall I was really not overly pleased with the September picture for the calender (though trying to put a cheerful face on it!). I do like the calendar pictures as a group and it would be a shame to included one I didn’t like so I am doing it again…. as if I really didn’t have enough to do already!

The concept I liked – a September harvest moon, with the fairies silhouetted against it, but I have re-worked the idea with fairies that are not so tiny and ‘cute’. Bigger, bolder fairies… now without handbags and, er, with horns instead.

Mad September Moon Dance
Mad September Moon Dance

It occurred to me that in the October painting they have masks with a variety of horns, pointy noses and huge ears attached, and that this might be incorporated into the silhouettes of September. Kind of retrospectively adding a narrative, from September to October: suddenly the fairies do not appear to be fairies any more, and then in the following month all is revealed. Well, it seemed like a good idea at the time, and I hope it will add interest to my silhouettes.

And another change: I think I will do February and September as I had intended to do the whole series, when I first thought it up: monochrome pencil work, with gold leaf added. I think that red gold might make a nice harvest moon.

So, for the last two chapters, watch this space.

5 Comments

  1. Mgon ā™„

    Oh I like this one already!

    1. Thanks again Mgon šŸ™‚

  2. Hi Nancy !! I’m a new follower of your blog and i’m crazy about your art !!!! Your new art work looks fantastic !!! Love your fairies soooo much !!! Have a great autumn !!! :o)

    1. Thank you! šŸ™‚ and you too have a great autumn. Just now it’s howling a gale and pouring, mind you!

  3. Love the gestures you’re able to come up with. Almost looks like they are in free-fall.

Tell me what you think!

