The Naked Masquerade

On the internet, everyone can see your bits!

This blog has lately been so much about a certain Ms Wendy Marani (plagiarist extraordinaire), that, showing you any new artwork, I feel like saying: andΒ  now for something completely different! Except there is a tie-in: on the internet everyone can see your bits!

Of course the ‘bits’ in question may not be what I know you are now thinking about: you can’t see those in this sketch either. But it is worth remembering that, whatever you display, people are going to see it if you put it out there!

And so, I always thought a Naked Masquerade might make perfect sense: as long as it is a Masquerade, people do not know that they are your bits at all πŸ˜‰

sketch for a naked masquerade  scene, in pencil
sketch for a naked masquerade scene, in pencil

This is a sketch I was working on just after Christmas (it’s a bit complex for a small image – click on it to see it bigger). Then time got overtaken by Medusae (yes, I believe that may be the plural), and by a lot of other things, and I am coming back to it a bit cold now and wondering where I thought I was going with it! It’s at that stage where I am mostly happy with the composition – that part can be painfully slow and accounts for the fact that I have taken the scissors to this one, even, and re-arranged some elements that I liked but that were just not in the right place.

Of course it’s a party scene, with a chap near the left who has failed to read the dress-code. Everyone else is naked, though for the sake of humour and to the advantage of public display, there are no visible ‘bits’. Instead there are convenient umbrellas and the like. I think it will be a painting but it is always possible it could be turned into an etching instead.

That’s pretty inconclusive I know, but I just thought I’d display my bits while I was considering what to do with them!

10 Comments

  1. Beautifully drawn Nancy. Let’s see if the thief dares to copy this.

    1. Thank you Rosie! I shudder to think what SHE would turn it into! πŸ˜€

  2. Mgon β™₯

    Ohhh sooo lovely! **jumping & clapping** ;-D

  3. Such wonderful and fun !! :))

    1. Thank you Mirsini πŸ™‚

  4. what a clever – and fun πŸ™‚ – masquerade idea! love your sketch, ever bit of it! πŸ™‚

  5. meant to say…..love your sketch, EVERY BIT of it! I think I got all flustered πŸ™‚

    1. It’s ok, Melanie, You make perfect sense the first time! Thank you! πŸ™‚

  6. […] (which may not be its final title) in earnest. I recall saying last time when I showed you the sketch that I had not quite decided how I was going to approach it – whether as a painting or an […]

Tell me what you think!

