Hydrophobia… printed

And the final image for next year’s calendar is complete! I think it came out ok in the end despite misgivings that I had thrown too many techniques at this particular plate:

Hydrophobia: Medusa on the beach - etching print
Hydrophobia: Medusa on the beach – etching print

The snakes are more like cartoon snakes in this one than in any of the others, but it seemed appropriate!

Hydrophobia: Medusa on the beach - close-up of the snakes
Hydrophobia: Medusa on the beach – close-up of the snakes

So that’s the calendar for 2014 – A Medusa For All Seasons. If you want to look back at the work in progress this link should show you all the calendar posts: https://nancyfarmer.wordpress.com/tag/calendar-2014/

There will of course be much more work to do before this becomes a calendar, and rest assured I will keep you updated! A couple of people have asked about the original prints, and yes, they will be for sale, but I need to sit down and work out the edition numbers and get them on the database and everything, all very boring that! And then I can give them prices. So I will get that done quite soon.

Meanwhile, another little bit of news: My gallery is back up on ArtID – now that that Wendy person has been taken off there I thought they were in need of some ‘proper’ medusa paintings ;-). This gallery is in fact the re-instated one I had until about a year or so ago, when I was trying out too many galleries at once to keep them all going, so it is in need of updating, which I will get round to in due course. Glad to be back, it’s probably the most attractive, clean-cut gallery of the ones I tried. And if anyone wants to try the site for themselves, the lowest tier in their fee structure is actually free…

And with that, I must go… wine is calling 🙂

8 Comments

  1. Mgon ♥

    OMGosh. It came out WONDERFUL! Woo-hoo. I LOVE it. I HEART it. I ❤ it. I want it. I need it. Gimmie! Gimmie!! Gimmie!!! *does a backflip* 😀

    1. Oh good 🙂 very pleased to hear you like her Mgon! Always a bit odd when I post a photo of the plate and I have to say ‘well, this one might be nice when i print it, or maybe not’ !!

      1. Mgon ♥

        I truly understand (due to following you for so long) that you truly cannot know how the print will come out, no matter how great the etched plate may look. “The proof is in the printing.” 😉 I’m so happy this printing came out totally excellent. !!! I WANT ONE !!! ❤

        1. 🙂 …they will be available soon…just need time to go through the whole lot and put them on the site… xx

  2. Wendy, there’s a lovely new picture of Medusa which …… 😉

    1. Haha..bit subtle for the likes of our Wendy, methinks!

  3. edboxall

    This is a great interpretation and lovely etching technique!

    1. Thank you! 🙂 in part the technique – burnishing to get the highlights on the figure – is borrowed from mezzotint, which is a lovely technique but insanely time-consuming in its pure form: https://nancyfarmer.wordpress.com/2011/12/08/a-first-attempt-at-mezzotint/

Tell me what you think!

