Coasting along…

I have only 2 more sessions of etching to go before the summer, and then no printing or etching till October, so I need a quick project. Here are a little series of nudes with drinks, destined to become drypoint prints, which I will then put in coasters, in the manner of the ‘Stain Devil’ coasters which I have more-or-less run out of for the moment:

Six coaster designs
Six coaster designs

And below – the sketches on the aluminium plates. Of course it now occurs to me, having sketched directly on the plates (because it seemed easier than messing about with tracing paper) that I have not reversed the images so they’ll all come out backwards. This sort of thing happens when you think you will just do something quickly. On the other hand I can’t see that it would make much difference in this case…

Aluminium plates, ready for drypoint
Aluminium plates, ready for drypoint

There has been a lot of gardening lately, which in part accounts for the scarcity of posts to this blog. Something has to give… This usually happens this time of year, and most of it has been veg gardening, however, since this post is a little short on content I thought I’d just post a couple of snaps of my new dandelions… yep, I have ornamental dandelions, lovingly grown from seed! (seeds from Plant World Seeds)

Bicolour Dandelion in pink and yellow
Bicolour Dandelion in pink and yellow
Dandelions with red-black leaves
Dandelions with red-black leaves
Bicolour Dandelion in pink and yellow
Bicolour Dandelion in pink and yellow

So… if I can drag myself away from nurturing the weeds, I should have some more artwork to post soon.

3 Comments

  1. […] « Previous / Next » By Nancy Farmer / May 13, 2013 / coasters, drypoint / Leave a comment […]

  2. Where do you print and why are you not able to print until October?

    1. I print at Dove Studios, with Bron Bradshaw – I think you know her blog: http://bronwenbradshaw.wordpress.com/
      The next proper term doesn’t start till October, and though I might be able to have some time to print over the summer there is also the question of needing to devote a bit of time to painting, which gets seriously neglected when I am printing!
      …it’s either that or do less gardening, but i love the gardening, plus, most of my gardening creates food 🙂

Tell me what you think!

