Set fire to my art!

I am putting original drawings onto candles! They are, as you will guess, traced from a basic template to some extent, but only very loosely and each one is different. To do originals from scratch each time would take far too long for something I am suggesting people to set fire to, but I think they are unique enough to merit the title ‘art’.

This is a taster as the blog looks hungry: more detail when I have time. If you are good, I may even tell you how I did it….

Dancing Demons Candle
Dancing Demons Candle

15 Comments

  1. Mgon ♥

    Looks really good. What a fun way to present your art. Candles are timeless. Art is timeless. The perfect combo! 🙂

    1. Thank you Mgon 🙂
      …actually, these candles not timeless – they are marked ‘100 hours’ on the wrapping – pretty specific! 😉

      1. Hah-hah! Darn those bothersome technicalities.

  2. These are absolutely gorgeous Nancy!

    1. Thank you Christian! have some pretend gold leaf to mess with on some of them, too – not putting my real stuff on candles, it would be a waste, but you know I like a bit of shiny 😉

      1. Wow, that will be cool!I am sure it will look great & hope you’ll post a photo. I also don’t think one would be able to tell the difference between the real and pretend stuff. The only one where I could see a real difference was with the white gold leaf, the other pretty much looked like the fake stuff.

        1. Yes I will of course post photos – have only done a small test one with leaf on at present and didn’t have a great photo of it, but no, you would not know the difference between fresh imitation leaf and the real stuff – it’s over the years that the imitation would tarnish and the real stuff will not… On the plus side, a bit of wax on the surface will slow down the tarnishing process too… dammit, slipping into nerdism again… this is just the way my brain works!

          1. 🙂 – looking forward to the photos…..

  3. Nice and original idea!!!!

    1. Thank you Palmira 🙂

  4. Elderberry Arts

    They are gorgeous, what a great idea.

    1. Thank you! Not strictly my idea I have to admit – I thought i was going to put transfers on them, but they weren’t good enough and this is soo much more fun 🙂

      1. Elderberry Arts

        I wouldn’t be able to burn them, they are far to lovely 😀

  5. Awesome! So inspiring.

Tell me what you think!

