Naked people in Pawlett…

Life Drawing 16/10/13 i
Life Drawing 16/10/13 i

Spent yesterday life-drawing…

Even though I can hardly ever get to the life drawing classes, I still seem to have quite a few drawings around now. Occasionally I frame up a collection of them, but have a lot of framed stuff at the moment. So as an experiment, I have just spent some time putting these up for sale on Etsy:
https://www.etsy.com/uk/shop/nancyfarmer?section_id=5955658

They are all in pencil, and except for the sketch above they also have a little tone added in pastel, applied on a cotton bud. This, to date, is the best medium I have found that will just add that little bit of weight to the drawing without taking over. The alternative would be a colour wash, but I do like nice flat paper, and un-stretched paper will cockle if you get it wet, of course. I guess a fat felt-tip pen at just the right stage of running dry might be a good alternative, but the pastel is more controllable.

Life Drawing 16/10/13 h
Life Drawing 16/10/13 h
Life Drawing 16/10/13 a
Life Drawing 16/10/13 a
Life Drawing 16/10/13 b
Life Drawing 16/10/13 b
Life Drawing 16/10/13 c
Life Drawing 16/10/13 c
Life Drawing 16/10/13 d
Life Drawing 16/10/13 d
Life Drawing 16/10/13 e
Life Drawing 16/10/13 e
Life Drawing 16/10/13 f
Life Drawing 16/10/13 f
Life Drawing 16/10/13 g
Life Drawing 16/10/13 g

17 Comments

  1. Lovely drawings Nancy! I miss my life drawings now we have none at the Arts Centre. These Pawlet days also pan out wrong for me. Shame. Michael x

    1. Thanks Michael! Dave also does some classes in Minehead, also saturdays I think… if that’s any good?

  2. Amazing work.Saw your work in Art weeks and love it

    1. Thank you George! πŸ™‚ Yes, I think we chatted – I remembered you name as I’ve seen you on Facebook…

      1. Do you open your studio any time except Art weeks my Granddaughter Ali wants to see your work

        1. we have a Christmas thing on29th Nov – 1st December, 11am – 5pm (and open till 8pm on the Friday). Same place as I was doing Somerset Arts Weeks.
          After that things might change – where I had my artwork is not in fact my studio: I live down the road (about 250 yards from there) and am in the middle of converting my disorganized studio theere into a neat studio-and-gallery space, so come next year I hope to be able to open up at home…

          1. Thank you I have made a note of the dates

  3. Hi Nancy – these are so wonderful. Sadly I am not a ‘drawer.’ About seven years ago my wife ‘made me’ go to a life drawing class at the Community College. Unfortunately I got the flu from hell in the middle of it, and now we live too far away for me to do. Anyhow, just to tell you how immensely I love your drawings.

    1. Thanks Christian! Line drawings are what I feel most comfortable with – it’s filling stuff in, and actually painting, that has take me longer to come to grips with… I love the curves and edges around the outsides πŸ™‚

      1. That’s exactly what my wife says!

        1. She sounds like a very sensible lady then πŸ˜‰

          1. She is, and talented too! πŸ™‚

  4. Lovely work, Nancy. It is a long time since I have done life drawing and never with 2 models. That must double the challenge!

    1. Thank you πŸ™‚ It seems to be a rare event to have two models, but it has a lot going for it: there is a sort of visual dialogue between the two models that can sometimes make it more of a picture than just a simple life study, and the models can support each other so you can get more movement and more interesting poses sometimes. Of course does take longer to actually get everything down on the paper…
      Thanks for stopping by on my blog!

  5. Pastel with a cotton bud – haven’t heard of that before

    1. neither had I, Rosie, it just seemed like a good idea at the time, and it worked so I stuck with it…

      1. I’ll have to give it a go πŸ™‚

Tell me what you think!

