Herne, Pan and the Weather

…more views of Glastonbury Tor

Even gods and spirits of nature get fed up with the weather sometimes, though I admit I missed a trick on this one. This is another for the 2015 calendar ’12 Views of the Tor’, and the sketch was done on about the 1st of January. A few weeks later I would have thought it more appropriate to put this pair in a boat, as Somerset seems to be rapidly filling up with water. They didn’t call Glastonbury the Isle of Avalon for nothing…
So, apologies to local readers: this will not seem quite as appropriate as it might have five weeks ago, but here is one more for the calendar:

Herne, Pan and the weather at the Tor
Herne, Pan and the weather at the Tor

This plate was made in the same way as the blackberry-picking fairy of my post on ‘imaginary drawing’ – it is entirely in drypoint, with some use of sandpaper in the background first – coarse sandpaper on the slope of the Tor, and some finer sandpaper across the sky a little. After that I burnished out the scratches where I didn’t want them – on the scarf in particular – before completing the rest of the drawing with the Pointy Tool.

Herne, Pan and the weather
Herne, Pan and the weather

11 Comments

  1. Oh I really like that 🙂

    1. Thank you! 🙂
      …it’ looks just like that outside at the moment. Only, er, with a lot more water.

  2. I like pointy tools. I have many. Typical geeky printmaker. This is lovely.

    1. Thank you 🙂
      Yes I probably have more pointy and scratchy tools than I realize when I start digging out all my jewellery-making tools…

      1. …have also an impressive selection of burnishers… and just one that I actually use.

      2. Tools. I ove tools. That’s the only sort of shopping I like 🙂

        1. would generally agree with you, but just went and bought 10 paving slabs for the garden and thought that was quite an exciting shopping trip too 🙂

          1. ooh yes gardening stuff is good too. And books.

  3. […] sure if I am completely happy with this combination of line and tone. I think the prints of ‘The Weather‘ and ‘The Harvest‘, with no etching but liberal use of sandpaper in the […]

Tell me what you think!

