The Other Boxing Day Hunt…

More from 12 views of Glastonbury Tor

I have been getting along faster with the calendar than I have with this blog: here is the corner of my newly-designed studio/gallery – now equipped with with hanging rails, but as you see still lacking the odd cable clip or two. I am three quarters of the way there with printing the pictures!

The 2015 calendar - three quarters done
The 2015 calendar – three quarters done

The print below is number 6 to appear on this blog – if I show you all of them together what will I have to say in the next few days?

The Hunt at Glastonbury Tor - etching and drypoint
The Hunt at Glastonbury Tor – etching and drypoint

This is probably my December picture – ‘The (Other) Boxing Day Hunt’ – which accounts for the red hats they are wearing in the sketch (below) I did for this picture. I have not decided if there will definitely be colour in these though – at some point I will just have to add some colour to a few of the prints and see if I like them.

Sketch for The Hunt at Glastonbury Tor
Sketch for The Hunt at Glastonbury Tor

This print is a combination of drypoint (the lines) over etching (the areas of tone), and I have to admit that I did this one before I decided that sandpaper was the new best thing, and I am not sure if I am completely happy with this combination of line and tone. I think the prints of ‘The Weather‘ and ‘The Harvest‘, with no etching but liberal use of sandpaper in the background have a more coherent look to them. Still, it is done now so I thought I would post and see what you all think!

For my fellow nerds: yes, on Boxing Day 2015 the moon will be this shape. The moon sets shortly after the sun – a matter of a couple of hours I think – I looked it up at the time. So the view is looking approximately south, south-west, early evening, with the moon setting after the sun. Oh yeah, and there is a hunting party consisting of fairies or goblins riding cats – that bit may be slightly less accurate πŸ˜‰

9 Comments

  1. Mgon β™₯

    OMGosh. I love this one! So fun! Me and mine are huge cat fans πŸ™‚

  2. Mgon β™₯

    Reblogged this on Mgon β™₯ and commented:
    Cats & Fairies! Wonderful! πŸ™‚

    1. Thank you so much for re-blogging πŸ™‚ I love cats too. I am just not completely sure of the treatment of this one, and toying with the idea of a painting with this composition… Don’t hold your breath, but maybe later in the year. I wondered if it was a bit too ‘Glastonbury’ for me (a sort of sincere airy-fairy mixed with a vaguely hippie spiritualism) – I tend towards more satire than that!…but then I do live just down the road from the place…

      1. Mgon β™₯

        Whatever more you do – or don’t do – will be awesome. You can do no wrong! πŸ˜‰ Trust us fans. Heh-heh.

    1. thanks Rosie πŸ™‚

  3. Love this. Fairies and goblins riding cats? Definitely, yes!

    1. Thank you Ziggy πŸ™‚
      …and yes, I thought cats would be appropriate… there was going to be several different animals – lizards and so on – but they wouldn’t play with the cats when I tried to put them into the composition!

Tell me what you think!

