A curious case of spelling Irises

Iris spelt in irises - pencil and watercolour
Iris spelt in irises – pencil and watercolour

I have put this picture under ‘spelling animals’ because I don’t have a category for spelling plants, and this was one of those pictures where I really didn’t know if it was going to work until I did it.  I was asked could I do a spelling picture for the birth of someone’s granddaughter, the newborn girl is called Iris, she said, and did I have any suggestions. Of course I said the first thing that popped into my head: how about Iris spelt in irises (with fervent hope that I was not going to regret it!). I was pleased, and secretly a little surprised, that it worked so well. And my customer was happy with it so that really is the important thing 🙂

And it really did help that the first irises in the garden opened the very day I drew it!

It’s been some time since I posted here, apologies! My other sketch blog, Cat-of-the-Day has had almost a post a day, and there is only so much I can keep up with…

 

8 Comments

  1. It is really lovely, I have a friend called Iris who would love it! It would make a nice birthday card too….

    1. Thanks Wendy!… now there’s a thought…

  2. Mgon ♥

    I can practically feel the delicateness of this.

    1. thank you Mgon 🙂

  3. I spotted this post and thought, wow, I love this – but I did not notice it was a word til a few seconds after admiring it in general. I guess cause I’m a flower lover! Cathy T

    1. Thank you Cathy! 🙂 …I love plants in general, but after the gardening I don’t always get time to draw them…

  4. JoEllen

    I have a grand daughter named Iris too. Any chance you’ll be make prints and offer them for sale?

    1. Hi, let me think about that one. Usually I would say that I can only do an original – I have done a lot of names with animals, where I can add a lot of different variations, but it’s more difficult spelling with flowers and the last thing I want to do is just duplicate the same painting. I’ll get back to you.

Tell me what you think!

