A sudden swarm of Gold Fairies

Printmaking has ceased until October, and in theory this gives me the summer to concentrate on painting and drawing. Time, however, keeps running away from me! Here are six gold fairies though, which I hope will make enticing little pictures for visitors to Somerset Arts Weeks (or just passing people, in need of a picture!).

It’s been some years since I drew the last Gold Fairy, and they have always been popular. I love drawing the human form (even if I have to make it up – I just can’t seem to get the models to hover in mid air for me…), and the combination of pencil and gold leaf is just so simple and glamorous!

gold fairy 2014-03
gold fairy 2014-03

The wings of these fairies are a mixture of different kinds of leaf: 24K Pure gold, 23K red gold, 18K green gold and 22K ‘moon gold’ and palladium leaf. Palladium is very like platinum without the delusions of grandeur, and so is about the price 0f gold leaf.

gold fairy 2014-04
gold fairy 2014-04
gold fairy 2014-01
gold fairy 2014-01
gold fairy 2014-06
gold fairy 2014-06
gold fairy 2014-02
gold fairy 2014-02
gold fairy 2014-05
gold fairy 2014-05

8 Comments

  1. Your figure drawing is really very good, and I know it’s not an easy thing to do. It takes a lot of practice. The fairies are charming and I like the combination of pencil and gold-leaf. It’s no wonder they are popular.

    1. thank you Mrs Daffodil! been a while since I did some of these so it’s nice to go back to the simplicity of the human form (plus wings) again!

  2. They are really beautiful, Nancy. Fairies with a touch of ‘Glastonbury’ about them I think…

    1. I expect so, Wendy – Glastonbury is only about 6 miles away, after all 😀 And thank you 🙂 x

  3. Mgon ♥

    Yay. I love these. You should do these forever and ever and ever. They are so fun. They make you feel good just looking at them. So much of your art is that way. Wonderful.

    Speaking of which, I got my “Art under your Coffee: ‘Demonic Wine 3′” and it is awesome. It’s amazing how much presence it has. It is delightful. I am so happy I got it. And having it only makes me want more! And I shall have more! Mark my words 😉

    P.S. I left a review for it today on Etsy.com

    1. Thank you Mgon, for your enthusiasm and the excellent review! 🙂 The gold fairies are so uncomplicated and a lot of fun to do, I had forgotten…!

  4. They are beautiful and the palladium leaf is glorious

    1. thank you Rosie 🙂 Palladium looks just like platinum, but i just looked up the cost of platinum leaf before I posted this one… Crikey! It had become very expensive at £45 a book when i bought it some years ago and now it’s £90! Now why didn’t we all buy platinum back then…..?

Tell me what you think!

