‘Three’s a Crowd’

Finished artwork in pencil and gold leaf.

'Three's a Crowd' - drawing in pencil and gold leaf
‘Three’s a Crowd’ – drawing in pencil and gold leaf

This is a relatively simple piece, expanding on the series of ‘gold fairies’ I have been drawing. I am rather aware that Somerset Arts Weeks is fast approaching, so it is not the time to get started on a long complex piece of work that will not be finished in time. Now, in this lovely summer weather, it seems a good idea to fill gaps in the gallery walls with some simple gilded glamour. Of course, my pictures are never THAT simple, but I am doing my best to get a few new pictures on the walls.

Here is ‘Three’s a Crowd’, step-by-step but only in pictures. If you would like to see more about applying the gold leaf, have a look at this recent post: https://nancyfarmer.wordpress.com/2014/07/11/how-to-apply-gold-leaf-to-paper-part-1/

outline in pencil
outline in pencil
gilding completed
gilding completed
filling in the background
filling in the background

Just one technical bit of info here – the solid black background is done by scribbling and scribbling with a .9 propelling pencil (the thickest ordinary propelling pencil and therefore the quickest at filling in the gaps). However, no matter how much you scribble, there will always be little white bits. These I smooth over by more ‘scribbling’ but with a cotton bud. This I’ve begun t do in the photo above, in the bottom left quarter.

pencil blended with a cotton bud
pencil blended with a cotton bud

Below are my drawing tools for the solid black background: propelling pencil, cotton bud, and occasionally these little pointy things of rolled paper are useful for awkward corners, but I have forgotten what they are called…

drawing and smudging tools
drawing and smudging tools

And the finished drawing. The sun was at an awkward angle to show up the gold well, straight on….

finished drawing in pencil and gold leaf
finished drawing in pencil and gold leaf

So a better one of the gold leaf…

shiny gold leaf in paper
shiny gold leaf on paper

And even more shiny gold leaf!

'Three's a Crowd' - drawing in pencil and gold leaf
‘Three’s a Crowd’ – drawing in pencil and gold leaf

10 Comments

  1. Hey Nancy – superbly wonderful & of course, I love the gold leaf – and everything!

    1. Thank you Christian! πŸ™‚ x

  2. Mgon β™₯

    Congrats on finishing another unique and fine piece.
    The orb in the sky is particularly fun because it is so big and so very gold :o)

    1. Oh it is so very gold, yes, I do like a nice bit of gold πŸ™‚ Thank you! x

  3. Lovely composition and unique use of the gold leaf. Really makes the piece pop.

    1. Thank you! Very pleased at the positive comments, because, at this time of year I usually try to get a few more complex pieces in, but I just haven’t the time at the moment, so your comments make me feel a lot more positive about what I can achieve in the time I have:-)

    1. Thank you very much! πŸ™‚

  4. This is terrific, I love your drawing technique

  5. […] better, because it seems to be a continuation of the finished drawing I posted a few weeks ago: ‘Three’s a Crowd’. In fact it is not, it’s a drawing I abandoned last year because first I ran out of time and […]

Tell me what you think!

