Thoughts on Winter

These are a few very much work-in-progress (or even work-barely-started) sketches as I think on a picture for en exhibition entitled ‘Winter’. I wouldn’t have posted these so early, but if I don’t post something else soon, this blog is going to look as if all I do nowadays is Spelling Animals! (There are more of those to come…)

I am thinking around naked winter twigs with just a few red berries hanging on after the leaves have gone and, because I like people-things, translating them into the idea of a gathering of Dryads. Stark black against a winter white sky (maybe with gold leaf), and some dots of red. I couldn’t sleep the other night so I was drawing in bed, on my phone, but it is a small screen for a picture that size and so when I looked back at a pencil drawing I had also begun I am not sure it was as much help as I had thought at the time.

Anyway, I shall leave you to ponder the sketches as I am doing, if you wish, pencil one first, the rest on my phone….

Thoughts on Winter - in pencil
Thoughts on Winter – in pencil
Thoughts on Winter - on my phone
Thoughts on Winter – on my phone
Thoughts on Winter 2 - on my phone
Thoughts on Winter 2 – on my phone
Thoughts on Winter 3 - on my phone
Thoughts on Winter 3 – on my phone
Thoughts on Winter 4 - on my phone
Thoughts on Winter 4 – on my phone

8 Comments

  1. Looks like it could turn into a seriously wild party…

    1. Yes, I’m not sure it was supposed to, Wendy! it was supposed to be rather more serene… we shall see.

  2. Now this sounds presumptuous, but it does make me think of a painting I did called Dancing Trees….

    1. oh yes, I know those trees πŸ™‚

  3. This is going to turn into something fabulous, I’m sure. It’s quite interesting to see your work at an early stage.

    1. Thank you Mrs Daffodil! I hope so… πŸ™‚

  4. I love seeing your ideas gestating. It’s a great concept. I really like what you can do on your phone. I haven’t tried anything on mine yet πŸ™‚

    1. Thank you Rosie!. As to doing things on your phone – i think you have the same Samsung tablet that I have my eye on, I shouldn’t worry about drawing on your phone if you already have that, except for the problem that I have a very small handbag and it only just fits my phone in, let alone a tablet!

Tell me what you think!

