Cat-in-the-Box: another mezzotint

I am not sure if I had intended to do a series of mezzotint cats, but that is what seems to be happening! Besides, they are a useful subject and size to be practising with a technique that is fairly new to me, so here is my latest. This is not a drawing sketched from life but owners of cats will instantly recognize this behaviour as classic catishness.

Mezzotint: 'Cat-in-the-Box'
Mezzotint: ‘Cat-in-the-Box’

Below is the initial sketch on the aluminium plate, all the rest of the detail was made up as I went along. For more on the mezzotint process, have a look at my previous posts, like this one: https://nancyfarmer.wordpress.com/2014/05/20/mezzotint-on-aluminium-percy-cat/

Initial drawing on the aluminium plate
Initial drawing on the aluminium plate

9 Comments

  1. I suspect this is both a scaredy cat and a scary cat by the look of him!

    1. That depends: are you Man or Mouse? 😉

  2. Just beautiful, I love it!

    1. Thanks Wendy 🙂 x

  3. Can’t wait to see the final result. We have a rocker at Swansea Print Workshop so I think I’ll have to get off my backside and do some onto aluminium plate. Do you use standard aluminium etching plates?

    1. I don’t think they are sold as etching plates as such, Rosie, just sheets of aluminium, and we cut them up to size. I will enquire and let you know if they are anything special…. go find that rocker 😉

      1. oooh thank you, Nancy. Where do you get them from?

        1. I’ll find that out too – will let you know!

Tell me what you think!

