Progress interrupted by Witches Knickers!

Yesterday somebody told me the about “Witches’ Knickers”… a wonderful term for plastic bags caught in teees and bushes. It appears to be Irish in origin, and, living as I do in pretty unspoilt, knickerless rural Somerset, it’s not greatly fitting into my scheme of a “Westcountry Bestiary”. Still, I am not really convinced about my Silver Street drawings of my previous post, and now I am throughly distracted by drawing witches’ knickers… and knickerless witches. I think the idea might fly.

The first three drawings also vaguely conform to the very witchy tripple-goddess Hecate as maiden, mother and crone.

Witches' Knickers and Knickerless Witches - sketch 1
Witches’ Knickers and Knickerless Witches – sketch 1
Witches' Knickers and Knickerless Witches - sketch 2
Witches’ Knickers and Knickerless Witches – sketch 2
Witches' Knickers and Knickerless Witches - sketch 3
Witches’ Knickers and Knickerless Witches – sketch 3
Witches' Knickers and Knickerless Witches - sketch 5
Witches’ Knickers and Knickerless Witches – sketch 5
Witches' Knickers and Knickerless Witches - sketch 4
Witches’ Knickers and Knickerless Witches – sketch 4

 

12 Comments

  1. Mgon ♥

    I love it. Too fun! 😀
    This totally has my writer’s brain bloom(ers)ing with story ideas! LOL

    P.S. May the 4th be with you! 😉
    How many times have you heard that already today?
    I couldn’t help it! Heh-heh.

    1. Haha, thanks! and, strangely only heard that once today yet, so don’t worry not repetitive yet 😉

  2. Well, I did not know that! You do indeed quite often see knicker-less witches (and fairies!) in Glastonbury high street… 😉

    1. Haha! well I don’t often see their bottoms but I expect some of them are, under all that floaty stuff, Wendy!

  3. Your figure drawing is superb, so accomplished and seemingly effortless

    1. Thank you Rosie! 🙂 …it’s the product of many years spent trying to draw people from my imagination, informed by life drawing when I can. Pleased it seems to be paying off!

  4. Caroline medusalike

    Greetings and praise, Witchy Sister! I really want a maiden, mother, crone 3x picture…Celebrate the sisterhood!!😈😈😈 what a great inspiration you have! pS.. Got a willy waving wyvern yet? They live on Silver Street, you know…..

    1. Wyverns wave their willies? That’s terrible! …now I was very much inclined to go for the three-witch picture, Caroline, but I have been working on the composition and in the end I have put all 5 witches in because they fitted together rather nicely – more like Mother, Crone and 3 new hopefuls…! However, I am always open to commissions if you ever want your own picture!
      …spotted another Silver Street today which I my have overlooked before, or forgot about…

  5. […] am busily painting knickerless witches, but it is time-consuming, so in the meantime I wanted to show you my first actual commissioned […]

  6. […] in progress on the Witches Knickers picture. I took the sketches I already showed you, and arranged them into a pleasing composition. Part of me wanted to go for three witches as the […]

  7. […] made several sketches of witches loosing their knickers while flying on broomsticks, and was inclined at first to then use three […]

  8. […] to have colour – the knickers MUST be in colour or the painting won’t really work as the idea I had. I also hadn’t decided what was happening with the background, but when I added the […]

Tell me what you think!

