Is this picture real?

The digital sketches of my Cat-of-the-Day blog mostly only exist in electronic form – I have printed cards, I have a couple of collections featuring in calendars for next year and I have printed and framed a few, but on the whole I’ve never seen them other than on a screen. So I am rather excited about this huge print that I have just had delivered.

For a drawing for which I have no ‘original’ to sell, since it is all created on a digital screen, this elevates the picture to – not an original – but to a rather nice covetable object. Of course this sort of thing might also inspire the wrath of an artist who actually paints on canvas, the potential customer may actually be confused as to what is original and what is not, and to some extent I have sympathy with this objection. However, this isn’t just a print of a painting which exists somewhere else, this is a print of a ‘painting’ which has no physical existence anywhere. Is it real? well it’s not the original because in a ‘real’ sense that doesn’t exist, but it’s a real object. And so I am very pleased to say that I shall be offering some of the digital prints for sale in this format. Enquiries welcome!

The drawing is ‘To Layde Bay and back, with Steve and Tow-Floats‘… and is an imagined view of a swim I did a couple of weeks ago: this is the way home, back under the Pier at Clevedon. And yes, the sea was rather hilly that day.

Canvas print
Canvas print
Canvas print with me for scale
Canvas print with me for scale
Wrapped edge of print
Wrapped edge of print

10 Comments

  1. Wow amazing art work. πŸ™‚

    1. thank you πŸ™‚

  2. And makes a change from the ‘Is it Art’ discussion!

  3. I understand that the Royal Academy and the International Print Dealers Association accept prints made from images that only exist in the virtual realm as original artworks as they are not reproductions of existing works, such as paintings, so you’re ok with these. Gorgeous image πŸ™‚

    1. Do they, Rosie? Now that is very interesting! Thanks for the info, wasn’t aware of that at all, I shall have to look into it…..

  4. It’s a unique and striking (and as usual slightly amusing) piece of art.

    1. Thanks πŸ™‚ Yes, it was an amusing swim, too – it pretty much was like that. The previous day an organized event had been cancelled on exactly the same route on account of high waves, but we did it anyway πŸ˜‰

  5. Lovely, colourful, zany, happy image. Love it! x

    1. Thank you! πŸ™‚ (have you ever swum at Clevedon? the sea is not blue πŸ˜‰ )

Tell me what you think!

