Medusa of the Levels

Medusa of the Levels
Medusa of the Levels

I finished this a couple of weeks ago – a new Medusa picture. This is Medusa of the Levels. To those not acquainted with Somerset, large areas of this county are floodplain, known round here as The Levels since, being flood plain, they are… level. This is a very special and beautiful aspect of the Somerset countryside, and Medusa here is a bit special. Somerset is short on snakes, instead she has worms for hair: because worms are more important than snakes, except to other snakes.
In the background is Glastonbury Tor, just in case you failed to realize where we were.

I’ve been going through a bit of a monochrome phase (which is about to change with the next picture I am working on). This is entirely in Prussian blue watercolour, with just a hint of Indian yellow wash over the whole thing. Something I regret about this painting is that I didn’t paint her reflection more clearly and went instead for a watery effect. It is too late to change it now: the beauty and curse of watercolour is once it’s done, it’s done…

Close up of Medusa with a head of worms - watercolour and pencil
Close up of Medusa with a head of worms – watercolour and pencil
Medusa of the Levels - detail. Painting in watercolour
Medusa of the Levels – detail. Painting in watercolour

12 Comments

  1. Brilliant! I love the idea of good old Somerset worms instead of snakes 🙂

    1. oh I am pleased! I thought everyone would go ‘Eww’! 😀

  2. Very nice work! Your water-coloring skills are admirable! I would never attempt this myself! 🙂

    1. Oh thank you, pleased it looks like I know what I am doing because it doesn’t always feel that way 😉

  3. Jill Wells

    This is beautiful. I love the monochrome, it could be any time of the year or any time of day. Fantastic.

    1. Thanks Jill 🙂

  4. Valerie

    Absolutely wonderful
    Love them x

  5. This is fantastic. 😀 So many distinct levels to like about this… as you start at the front with the yellow-green/blue/dark blue grass, then the water/reflection, then Medusa at the shore grass, then the field behind her, then the mountain, then the sky. It’s delightful. I love it ❤

    1. Thanks Mgon! The ‘mountain’ is in fact Glastonbury Tor and it’s quite a short hill, though steep, but rising out of a very flat landscape it is very imposing.

  6. The grass…the grass is wonderful. You must like grass really,to paint it like this!

    1. Thank you 🙂 … but I don’t dislike grass in the proper outside – only in my flowerbeds!

Tell me what you think!

